[Response] The Problem with Dove’s “Love Your Curls Campaign”

Have you all seen the recent Dove “Love Your Curls Campaign?” Well let me say, it’s pretty disappointing at best. I found this amazing article on the commercial and all the things it does wrong. It’s really interesting to see this huge surge in “curly love.” From companies that purport to newly be “for naturals.” And also from curly campaigns like this one from Dove where I don’t see a good representation of females that look like me. As the article points out, we just don’t fit in the “curly love” demographic yet. Will we ever?

Kinsey Clark said it best here: The Problem with Dove’s “Love Your Curls” Campaign

2 thoughts on “[Response] The Problem with Dove’s “Love Your Curls Campaign”

  1. I feel you on the disappointment. I’ve seen so many campaigns that try to “do some good” but fall flat because they don’t really touch the people they are trying to reach in a meaningful way as well as show how much “they don’t know.”

    1. Yea it really sucks and then I feel a little conflicted. Am I devaluing these little girls’ experiences because I didn’t see girls that look like me? I’m sure they might feel less pretty but there are so many girls out there who are purposely left out…like where can we really draw the line? Good old American ideals, haha.

Leave a Reply

